A Foolish Dream

I had a dream,
A foolish dream
where
the sun was high
in the
clear blue sky.But then
there
were
stars
shining so bright
it made me
go blind.I thought of you.

You were
like
my
dream.
A foolish dream.
You were that bright
star,
outshining everything,
even
the
sun
in my
morning sky.

Stunning.
Fantastic.
Crazy.
Weird.
Impossible.
Sublime.
You’re everything
and
more.

You breathed air into my lungs
and laughed
as I choke on smoke.

You pushed me
and down the
rabbit hole
I fell
with both eyes
closed.

I heard your voice.
I opened my eyes.
You were there.
Falling with me.

But as we neared the ground,
our descent slowed.
And one by one,
your form started
to
fade.

Until all that was left
were
my
memories
of
what
your hand
felt
like
holding mine.

Until all that remained
were
shattered
dreams of
what could
have beens.

Baby,
you were a
magical dream.
A foolish, magical dream.

So now as morning comes,
I’ll open my eyes
and bid you
goodbye.

You’ll just be a dream,
A foolish magical dream
I’ll keep
deep
in the darkest
part of
my soul.

Leave a Reply

