Monster Within

I woke up to the vast
emptiness of the morning
The darkness shining through
my lifeless beating heart.
I’m shallow. Ugly. Empty.
A horrendous monster preying
on innocent hearts
devouring them until they cease to exist
I do not exist
I’m nothing but a hallucination
A reflection of my own twisted reality
I’m a figment of my imagination
I am real.
I live in the shadows
I thrive where pain and anger blooms
Insecurity, hatred, and jealousy flourish under my touch.
I am you
You are me
We are not one
But I am what you see.
 -Photo credit to the owner
Leave a Reply

